The current minimum amount of liability insurance required by law is $20,000 for each person injured in an accident, up to a total of $40,000 for everyone injured in an accident, and $15,000 for property damage per accident. The limits will increase on April 1 to $25,000 of coverage for each injured person, up to a total of $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. New law raises car insurance rates for Texas drivers New law raises car insurance rates for Texas drivers. You can learn more about a company, including its license status, complaint history, and financial rating from an independent rating organization, by calling TDI's Consumer Help Line at 1-800-252-3439 or by visiting our website at new texas auto insurance laws 2011.
8 newsletter, the new minimum auto bodily injury limits will be increased effective Jan. 1, 2011 on all in-force policies . Under SB 502 passed into law in 2007, the increase to new minimum limits of 25/50/25 was implemented on new and renewal policies issued on or after the effective date of April 1, 2008. Not so with the increase to 30/60/25 slated for Jan.